Miju Labs

The security dossier

The stock incumbents

Adobe writes the recruiting pitch for you: an undisclosed bonus paid at its discretion, no opt-out, and a payout floor cut from $25 to $1. Meanwhile Behance, Dribbble and 99designs sit on more creative supply than every funded competitor combined, with no announced AI-data programme between them.

high confidence8 minupdated 2026-08-30adobe · shutterstock · getty · freepik · behance · dribbble · recruiting

The stock libraries are not competitors. They are two other things, both more useful: they are the price-setters for what the creative world expects to be paid for AI training data, and they are sitting on the supply a new entrant would otherwise spend $18.5M assembling.

Adobe has already written the recruiting pitch

Everything a supply-side pitch needs is in Adobe's own contributor documentation.

The Firefly contributor bonus was paid on 17 September 2025 to "all Adobe Stock Contributors with eligible photos, vectors, illustrations, videos, or generative AI content, whose content was considered for training Adobe Firefly". The formula is content submitted between 3 June 2024 and 2 June 2025, weighted by "the number of licenses that the content generated in the same 12-month period" (Adobe Help).

Three details, in the order that matters:

The amount is not disclosed. Verbatim: it "will vary for each eligible Contributor and is paid at Adobe's discretion."

There is no opt-out. Verbatim: "We currently do not offer an opt-out option for Adobe Stock content."

The payout floor was cut from $25 to $1. For bonus recipients, "the minimum $25 requirement for payouts has been lowered to $1 for 3 months." A company reduces a payout threshold by 96% when a meaningful share of the payments are worth less than $25 [WEAK] — but it is hard to read another way, and the contributors read it that way. From Adobe's own forum:

In their words

"Now I got $1 and I have 25000+ AI assets?"Halal Vision Studio, on Adobe's contributor forum (Adobe community)

By the 2025 bonus round the same thread shows a $1 minimum payment threshold and a contributor reporting "$4.88 added to existing balance" (Adobe community). Base royalties, for scale: 33% of net sale price on photos, vectors and illustrations, 35% on video, with per-sale minimums of $0.33–$0.38 (Xpiks).

So what

An opaque, formula-driven, pooled bonus that lands at $1–$5 does more reputational damage than paying nothing, because it converts a grievance about theft into a grievance about insult. The community's memory of Firefly is "$1 for 25,000 assets", not "Adobe paid us."

The rest of the anchor

Shutterstock shares "a 20% average corporate royalty rate of revenue received by Shutterstock for data licenses", allocated by each contributor's share of content volume in purchased datasets, pooled and "distributed periodically as the fund accumulates significant revenue for distribution" (Shutterstock Contributor Help). Contributors can opt out — the one place Shutterstock beats Adobe.

Now the denominator. Q1 2026 total revenue was $199.2M, down 18%; Data/Distribution (AI licensing) revenue was $21.0M, down 47% from $39.7M a year earlier, now 11% of the total (Shutterstock IR). Management attributes the fall to "timing of revenue recognition" and remains "highly confident in the long-term trajectory".

$21.0M × 20% is about $4.2M shared across Shutterstock's entire contributor base for the quarter. Mercor pays one senior designer $150–250/hr.

Getty reported Q2 2026 revenue of $229.1M, down 2.5%, with AI licensing not broken out (Getty IR). Its OpenAI partnership, announced 21 June 2026, is a non-exclusive display deal that explicitly does not grant model-training rights, with no financial terms disclosed and contributor pay unknown — the coverage headline is literally "Creator Pay Unknown" (TechTimes). Note for anyone working from stale models: the Shutterstock merger is dead, terminated 7 July 2026 (Getty IR).

Freepik is the clearest per-unit number in the sector: 50% revenue share, pay-per-download, "$0.04 to $0.07 per download." One contributor's audited 90-day sample: $0.051 average per download, $94.18 gross on 1,847 downloads across 612 published assets (AutoKeyWorder) [UNVERIFIED] — a contributor blog with specific first-party figures. No AI-training compensation or opt-out policy is documented anywhere, while Freepik markets a generator "trained exclusively on licensed content" — meaning its own library, i.e. contributor work.

Envato bans AI-generated submissions outright: authors may not publish AI content "either as a standalone item or as the primary component of your item's final download file", on indemnity grounds (Envato Author Help). The policy is silent on whether Envato trains on author content, on compensation, and on opt-out. Could not establish.

What a creative is paidOpt-out
Adobe Firefly bonusundisclosed, at Adobe's discretion; reports of $1–$4.88None
Shutterstock data licensing20% of a line that fell 47% to $21.0M/quarter, pooledYes
Getty AI/display dealsnot disclosednot stated
Freepik$0.04–$0.07 per downloadnot documented
Envaton/a — AI submissions bannedpolicy silent
A Mercor senior design study$150–$250/hrdecline any project
Read

The supply-side pitch is already written, by the incumbents, against themselves. A designer choosing between "Adobe took my portfolio, will not let me opt out, and paid an amount it declines to name" and "a stated hourly rate, licence not assignment, byline credit, paid in seven days, decline anything you like" is not making a hard decision. Say the Adobe number out loud — or rather, say the absence of one. Will they say yes carries the evidence on how creatives actually respond.

Three design rules fall out of this directly, and they belong in The clause that expires your corpus in year ten: pay a stated rate per unit of work rather than a share of a pool; never let a payment round to a number that reads as an insult; and make the opt-out real, because it is the only thing separating Shutterstock's grumbling from Adobe's derision.

The unclaimed supply, and what it costs

The stock libraries hold licensed assets. The portfolio communities hold licensed people — and nobody has claimed them.

PlatformOwnerScaleAI-data programme
BehanceAdobe50M+ members (Behance)None announced
DribbbleTiny Ltd — bought 70.4% for ~$5.5M in Jan 201720M users, 100M pageviews/month, 3M+ email subscribers, 50k new users weekly (Dribbble)None found
99designsVista1.4M designers, $200M+ paid out (99designs)None found
Supersideprivate$44.9M ARR (2024), 850 staff (GetLatka)None found
Cosmosprivate10M+ items saved monthly; users at Nike, Apple, Amazon (Fast Company)Explicitly anti-AI-content — users can show, blur or hide AI imagery
The price comparison that should decide the strategy

Tiny bought 70% of Dribbble for ~$5.5M in 2017. Taste Labs raised $18.5M to build a 1,000-person network from scratch. Behance has 50M members and Dribbble has 20M, inside companies with no announced plan to do anything with them.

Two cautions before anyone treats that as an easy arbitrage. First, all of these are negatives from absence of evidence — no announced programme is not the same as no programme, and the biggest of them sits inside the company that already runs Firefly with no opt-out. Second, presence on Dribbble is weak evidence of quality in 2026 in a way it was not in 2016: the platform removed off-platform contact details unless clients pay through it, and the professional read is that it became a monetisation surface rather than a discovery one (UX Playbook). Volume channels are cheap and diluted; the register channels — award juries, certificate holders, curated communities — are where quality screening actually happens, and Where the good ones actually are argues that case with the numbers.

Adobe has also, quietly, normalised the thing the client wants to sell: Behance Commissioned Projects pay creatives $500–$2,000 for graphic design and $1,500–$2,000 for photography, on roughly one-month timelines, several of them explicitly requiring Firefly, with instructions to "clearly indicate where and how Firefly was used" (Behance). Paid, credited, AI-involved commission work for exactly this population already exists. It is both a precedent to cite in recruiting copy and a competitor for the same hours — which is the pattern in Design and UI/UX generally: nothing in this niche is unoccupied, only unclaimed.