Handshake AI
A decade-old campus network that already owned the PhDs its competitors were recruiting — zero to $1B gross in fifteen months, on a valuation nobody has re-marked.
Latest (Sep 2026): Handshake AI went from launch (Jan 2025) to about $1B gross annualised by April 2026 (Sacra: ~$1.10B group gross, ~$450M net), working with eight frontier labs (TIME, Aug 2026). It acqui-hired data-quality startup Cleanlab on 28 Jan 2026 (nine staff into its research org); contractors on OpenAI projects reported suspensions with pay withheld in Dec 2025-Jan 2026, and in Aug 2026 it began paying up to $30K for professionals' own work documents. The last priced round is still the $3.3B Series F (Jan 2022; ~$3.5B 2025 mark), with no new round found as of 2026-09-19. Note: X/LinkedIn handles are the parent Handshake's; no separate Handshake AI accounts were verified.
Handshake is the fastest zero-to-$1B in the expert data vertical and the only large name in it that looks cheap. Both facts have the same cause: it already owned the supply, and nobody has re-priced it since.
Why it won so fast
Handshake spent a decade signing up universities. By the time it launched Handshake AI in January 2025 — as "a startup inside a startup," with separate teams and offices (Sacra; Lenny's Newsletter) — it had 17–20M students, 1,600+ institutions, roughly 500,000 PhDs and ~3M advanced-degree holders in network.
Scale AI and Mercor had been recruiting PhD annotators off Handshake. Handshake disintermediated its own customers (Aakash Gupta on X) [WEAK — commentary rather than reporting, though consistent with the timeline]. This is the cleanest Which side you build first solution in the atlas: the expensive side of the marketplace was already assembled and already paid for.
Growth from there: $5–10M gross ARR at launch → $550M in January 2026 → ~$1B gross annualised by April 2026, with net revenue after contractor payments around $300M (Dealroom). Lord's own numbers are $50M in the first four months and $100M in eight.
The mispricing
Contractor costs run 60–70% of gross — the same take structure as Mercor. So the arithmetic is:
| Basis | Figure | Multiple on the $3.5B mark |
|---|---|---|
| Group gross annualised (Apr 2026) | ~$1.10B | ~3.2x |
| Group net after contractor payouts | ~$450M | ~7.8x |
| AI arm alone, gross | ~$1.0B | — |
| AI arm alone, net | ~$300M | — |
At 3.2x gross, Handshake is the cheapest large name in the sector — cheaper than Innodata's 6.2x on audited public numbers. Even restated to net at ~7.8x it is well below Mercor at roughly 29–38x net. The gap is not a judgement about business quality; it is that the $3.5B mark predates the AI revenue entirely and there has been no priced round since January 2022. See What the public market pays for labour and GMV is not revenue.
What the arithmetic also shows is a ~30%-margin labour business bolted onto an ~80%-gross-margin SaaS business. Blending them produces a group gross margin that means very little, which is exactly the accounting problem GMV is not revenue exists to name.
Pay, and how far "expert data" has drifted
Lord states contractors average $100–125/hour, with a range from $75/hr (software engineers, improv actors) to $175/hr (investment bankers) to $300+/hr (MDs and PhDs) (BI via AOL). Sacra corroborates $100–125 for maths, physics and CS. Entry for supply runs through the "MOVE" (Model Validation Expert) Fellowship.
Handshake has also hired improv actors at up to $74/hour to record unscripted scenes for an unnamed leading lab (AOL/BI). That is a useful marker of how far this category has moved from annotation.
Pay withholding
This is the sharpest supply-side problem documented anywhere in the vertical.
Contractors on OpenAI projects report accounts suspended between late December 2025 and January 2026 with pay withheld. Business Insider interviewed five contractors; four were unpaid. Dozens more appear on Reddit, there are at least two lawsuits, and one court ruled a contractor was owed $6,475. Handshake's stated grounds are credential discrepancies, task times 3–4x benchmark, and work performed outside the US. Its support line: "This decision is final. There is no appeal process, and any work associated with this violation is not eligible for payment" (AOL/BI).
A community tracker documents a May 2026 payment crisis on "Project HH" — workers receiving 20–50% of earned pay, effective rates falling to $8–25/hr — plus a 7.5% account-ban rate and 55% negative sentiment across 1,654 Reddit posts between June and August 2026 (Breaking Even) [WEAK — community data analysis, not press].
Note that Handshake's stated grounds are also a Who is actually on the other end story: the company is asserting that a meaningful share of its credentialled supply is faking credentials or using LLMs to complete work. Both readings can be true, and both are expensive.
Restructuring
Around 100 US roles cut, 15% of a 650-person staff, concentrated in the legacy recruiting business (Upstarts). Cleanlab acquired in January 2026 for data quality.
The legacy college-recruiting business is given as ~$150M gross ARR in one source and $190M (2024) in another; the AI team's growth is reported as 15 → 150 people in one account and 3 → 150 in another. Neither discrepancy was reconciled.
Worse, neither figure survives the group arithmetic: $1.10B of group gross less the AI arm's ~$1.0B leaves about $100M for the legacy line, not $150M and not $190M. The group net figure of ~$450M is built by subtraction from these same numbers, so it inherits the error. Treat the 3.2x and 7.8x multiples as accurate to within about a tenth, not to the decimal.
Handshake does not disclose a take rate or gross margin. The ~30% figure here is derived from the stated 60–70% contractor share, not disclosed.
Building the supply side
Seed supply first, but only as much as the first contract consumes — and answer the utilisation question before anything else, because it is what kills these companies.
Expert data for frontier labs
Labs buy throughput of credentialled human labour — annotation, preference data, reasoning traces, RL environments — and pay nine figures for it at a staffing margin.
What the model actually is
Buyers with money but not capability, sellers who are fragmented, and a middleman who organises them and keeps a big cut. Four conditions have to hold at once — and calling the result a marketplace is how it gets mis-priced by a factor of ten.
GMV is not revenue
The same company is worth 13x or 38x depending on which number you divide by. Nearly every headline in this sector quotes the one that flatters — here is how to tell in ten seconds.
How to evaluate one of these
Six scores, one to five, higher always better for the operator — what each is trying to capture, where each misleads, and the three disqualifiers that override any total.
Paying the crowd
Gray Swan buys perpetual worldwide rights to an attack trajectory for about $3.77; Mercor pays $70–95 an hour and up for the same skill. Tournament and payroll are different products, and the buyer of a dataset wants the expensive one.
Sizing the taste market
$50–300M of externally-purchased spend, central $100–150M, built from a $6–10B expert-data market with a $3.8B verified floor times a 1–3% creative share. The uncomfortable half: published practice pays $0–16/hour for aesthetic judgement, and a field-defining benchmark cost $13,433.55.
The capital register
Every company the sweep found, with what it raised, what it was marked at, what it earns and whether that revenue is gross or net. Plus the exits, the failures and the absence of a public bear case.
What the public market pays for labour
Below ~40% gross margin the revenue multiple is capped near 1.6x, permanently. Accenture proves the ceiling; Fiverr proves that clearing it is necessary and not sufficient.
Evidence register
Not a bibliography — a graded list of the claims the atlas leans on, what each one holds up, where it came from and how much weight it will take.
The generalists in creative
Mercor already sells the exact product — narrated senior design reasoning — at $150–250/hr, from Pentagram and Wolff Olins pedigree, to an unnamed frontier client. Contra's 'up to $100/hr' is the middle of the band, not the top of it.
What we could not establish
The questions that would most change a decision, the thirty-three contradictions the research left unresolved, and the structural holes where no evidence exists anywhere — not just where we failed to find it.
The generalists in cyber
Mercor already runs at least six live cyber postings from $54 to $250 an hour, the research files disagree about which rate is the ceiling, and its answer to a specialist is acquisition — two environment deals in five months against a $2B gross run rate.
Expert networks
$200 to the expert, $800–900 to the client, held for four decades. The oldest version of this model has the most durable rake in the atlas — and may not sell to AI labs at all.
Invisible Technologies
An operations-as-a-service business that discloses a real profit figure — $134M revenue, $15M EBITDA — and is marked at 15x for it.
Appen
The only pure-play with audited numbers, and a 97% drawdown from peak — the base rate for what a concentrated data vendor is worth when one hyperscaler leaves.
You pay weekly, they pay in sixty days
At a 25% gross margin on net-60 terms, roughly 11% of annual revenue is permanently trapped in the gap — and it has to be funded again every time you grow. The tempting fix is to fund it out of the crowd, which is how you acquire a docket.
Prolific
The only company in the vertical that publishes its take rate — 42.8% on top of participant pay — and the best public anchor for what this spread actually is.
What better models do to each layer
Three different things get called 'AI will eat this': models doing the crowd's work, models doing the middleman's work, and models creating the budget in the first place. They point in opposite directions and every vertical in the atlas sits in a different one.
The law is about to arrive
The EU Platform Work Directive transposition deadline is 2 December 2026. It flips the burden of proof, catches you on where the worker sits rather than where you are incorporated, and closes the BPO workaround with joint-and-several liability.
Who is actually on the other end
State-sponsored infiltration, real-time deepfake interviews, multi-accounting and LLM-assisted cheating are all live and documented. The best control against them — 1:N face matching against your enrolled gallery — becomes illegal for EU workers on 2 December 2026.
Where the supply can legally live
A map of which supply geographies are cheap and safe and which are traps. The EU becomes expensive on 2 December 2026, one global IP clause silently fails in Germany and India, and your real competitor is an offshore FTE at half the cost.
GLG
The largest expert network, a 70–80% take held for decades, and a market share that halved anyway. Its 2021 S-1 is the highest-value document in the atlas — quoted in one research file and recorded as unopened in another.